Grace and Ugly Turtlenecks

“my grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness”

2 corinthians 12:9

Have you ever received a gift that you didn’t want? Maybe during Christmas, you aunt gave you an ugly turtleneck. Or your grandma blessed you with some new underwear that look like some she’d wear herself. Maybe your cousin passed down some old hand-me-downs that she’d gathered while cleaning out her closet. What am I suppose to do with this? you think. Seriously? This is what they thought I’d want? But, because you were raised to be both respectful and grateful, you accept all gifts and soon they pile up in the corner of your room, untouched and dusty. Valuable items, that may have seemed like bad gifts initially, but in reality are things that people who love you took the time to pick out – while having your best interest in mind. Maybe that ugly turtleneck is your warmest sweater on a snowy day. Those granny panties may be the only underwear you have clean when you get to lazy to do laundry. Your cousin may have not had the money to purchase you new clothes, but thought Well, these clothes are too small for me and basically new. Maybe she’ll like them.

And so the gifts that once sat in the corner of your room eventually become invaluable.

Now let me ask you something.

Did you know that when God created you, He already knew the mistakes you’d make? He already knew the wrong choices you’d choose, the words you’d say and regret, the actions you’d perform, and the rules you would break. This is why God sacrificed His Son. So that Jesus’ blood may cover us and we’d be forgiven for our sins.

The fact that God loved me enough to sacrifice His ONLY SON was hard for me to wrap around my head and it took me a while to finally accept that it was true. I often thought to myself Wow, I am so unworthy. How could God possibly ever forgive me for the things I’ve done. And I stood by those words. I stood by my word and not HIS.

God had given me His Gift and I had placed it in the corner of my heart because of my pride. Because I thought that I was so unworthy. I had been offered God’s grace and thought to myself, What am I suppose to do with this? This isn’t for me.

I realized that I was basically saying that God made a bad decision when He chose to save me and Lord knows that wasn’t what I meant! God loved me the day He created me and He loves me still today.

So you’ve been drunk a few times. You’ve lied, hurt a close friend, or failed to follow God’s Word. You’ve promised God numerous times you’d change, yet you’ve still gone back to your old ways. You’ve prayed to God only when you needed Him. You’ve cursed. You’ve had sex before marriage. You’ve used His Name in vain. You’ve betrayed Him. You’ve lied to Him. You’ve disrespected Him.

You’ve SINNED. And guess what?

“for we all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God”

romans 3:23

God is STILL waiting on you to run to Him. His arms are wide open. He still loves you. It is never to late to stop and turn back to Him. God wants the best for you – so bad that He’d do anything for you because you are worth that much!!!!!

Often times we fail to realize the value in the gifts we receive. Take the time to appreciate the gifts that come your way. Even the itchy sweaters.

Realize that God’s grace is invaluable.

And so are you.

God has forgiven you. Forgive yourself.

As always, thanks a million for reading. I pray you find your worth.

Remember to:

live happy. pray daily. ring cowbells. drink joe.

until next time,

cynda_b

Leave a Reply

